Some History of
The Church of The Immaculate Conception - Geraldine


Order of Opening Ceremony

Bishop Brodie hands the key of the new church to Father Fogarty

2.30pm Formation of Procession outside Presbytery.
Order of precession: Geraldine Band and Choir, Children. Cross-bearer and acolytes, sodalites of the Children of Mary, Timaru, Temuka, Ashburton, Cathedral, St Mary's, Beckenham, and Addington, Christchurch, Darfield and Waimate. Ladies of the Parish; Men of the Parish; Priests; the Bishop and Hibernians' Bodyguard, consisting of members from the following Branches: Christchurch, Rakaia, Ashburton, Timaru, Temuka, Waimate, Darfield and Geraldine.
3.00pm.Bell tolls and Precession moves off past Bank of New Zealand and along Peel Street.
3.10pm. At new church.
Ceremony begins with procession of His Lordship the Bishop and priests around new church.
His Lordship opens the main door and enters, followed by the priests.
3.30pm. Addresses by Rev. Father M. J. Fogerty; other speakers, and His Lordship the Bishop.
4.30pm. The Ceremony terminates
Solemn Pontifical Benediction and the singing of the Te Deum by a choir of priests.

Tea will be served on the grounds after the Ceremony.

Web Designed first in 1999, updated 2010 and again for mobile in 2016 Lea Hullett